Night & Light

Controlling light is an amazing thing. In these next photos I was able to take some photos at night and I tried to shape the light in a way that helps pull your focus in to a part of the frame. I think I really enjoy this type of photography.  In the past when I have captured star trails I have 30 sec. to stare at the stars, while I wait for the camera to do its thing. Its always calm and peaceful. Then after the 30 sec. are up you get a beautiful image. I hope you enjoy.

Blurred Lights

I waited until Rexburg’s rush hour (12 am) to capture this four way stop. Notice the many light streaks are actually cars moving in and out of frame. None of them actually stopped so we couldn’t see any cars but I promise they where there.

Rexburg “Rush Hour”, Oct. 29, 2012, 12:08 am, Rexburg, ID, f/10, 30 sec., ISO-100, 18mm, 60D

Light Sketching

Next I moved into my office and decided to spell my name for you all just to prove I graduated from Kindergarten.

Rex, Oct., 28, 2012, 11:36 pm, Rexburg, ID, f/14, 10 sec., ISO-100, 18mm, 60D

Camera Motion

In the past two photos you need to set the camera up on a tripod to pull off the effect of light moving around. In the next photo you do the exact opposite you move around while the light stays in the same place. I like this photo because you can see the time clearly but the trails of light coming from it give it a cool effect.

Not Enough Time, Oct. 28, 2012, Rexburg, ID, f/5.6, 4 sec., ISO-100, 106 mm, 60D

Light Painting

For this next exercise I used the LED light on the back of my phone as a flashlight. I then shined the light on parts of the image exposing certain objects so they where highlighted.

New Office, Oct. 28, 2012, 11:31 pm, f/14, 13 sec., ISO-100, 18 mm 60D

Halloween Sky, Oct., 29, 2012, 12:18 am, f/3.5, 30 sec., ISO-100, 18 mm, 60D

Angle Bike, Oct., 29, 2012, 12:27 am, f/18, 25 sec., ISO-800, 18 mm, 60d

And last of all here is a night image of my street. I really liked the color of the clouds in this one.

Empty Street, Oct. 29, 2012, f/3.5, 30 sec., ISO-100, 18 mm, 60D

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

