Photo Contest

I have entered 2 print contests this year though a photography society here on campus called Photographics. I was a bit nerves putting my photos out there to be judged but I am very happy I did. I feel that I have learned a lot by participating in these actives.

The first thing I learned is to see your photos through new eyes. When I have taken photos in the past it has mainly been to please me and my tastes. But once you enter a photo in a contest you immediately have it come under new eyes. You are thinking of what others will think and how they will react to your work.

The next thing I did was play to my strengths  I knew that people go for stuff that is cute and inviting  So I entered a photo of my niece and I won a student choice award. The photo is below. I had to touch up the photo a little bit because there wasn’t any leaves by her feet. After I added the leaves I feel that the photo stands out even more.

f/1.8, 1/4000 sec., ISO 320, 50mm, Denver, CO, Oct. 20, 2012 3:15 pm

f/1.8, 1/4000 sec., ISO 320, 50mm, Denver, CO, Oct. 20, 2012 3:15 pm

The last thing I learned is that it helps to have others look at your stuff. That way the next time you go out and shoot you can try and get the same photos. For this photo I made sure to try and get the beads of water very sharp.

f/1.8, 1/4000 sec., ISO 320, 50mm, Denver, CO, Oct. 20, 2012 3:15 pm

f/1.8, 1/4000 sec., ISO 320, 50mm, Denver, CO, Oct. 20, 2012 3:15 pm

As you can see she is really cute.

The next photo I entered is one that I in the last post I also printed into a large poster.

Beads of Water, Sept. 25, 2012, 8:12 am, f/9, f/60, ISO-800, 135 mm, T3i

Beads of Water, Sept. 25, 2012, 8:12 am, f/9, f/60, ISO-800, 135 mm, T3i

People seem to like the beads of water, which are completely natural.

Leave a Reply

